Imo North: APC declares Ibezim duly elected in primary

In Imo North, the All Progressives Congress, APC, has declared openly that the primary election conducted by the Senator Surajudeen Basiru's led Committee for the senatorial district by-election is the dependable one.

The Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena, Thursday, explained in a press statement that the Basiru-chaired committee is the duly appointed panel by the party’s Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee led by Governor Mai Mala Buni.

According to the statemen, the only outcomes from the Basiru-chaired committee is tenable and will be accepted by the party.

The committee conducted the primary election today with Frank Ibezim emerging winner with 13,637 votes.

The Committee had earlier cleared the 11 aspirants including Ifeanyi Ararume, Achonu Nneji, Mathew Omegara, Chijioke Uchendu, Frank Ibezim, Chidinma Uwajumogu, Uchenna Ubah, Okoro Joachim, Nwachukwu Uchenna, Onuoha Chijioke and Ihim Iheanacho.

We gathered that the primary election conducted is to enable the party to pick its candidate after the death of the Senator who represented the district, Ben Uwajumogu on December 18, 2019

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), will conduct concurrent legislative by-elections on October 31 to fill various legislative seats left vacant.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post