Ebonyi State Govt Tasks Community Leaders On Peace Building

By Celestine Okeh

The Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on legal services and conflicts resolution, Barr. Emeka Nwode has called on Community Leaders in the state to champion the course of peace in their different Communities across the state.

Barr Nwode gave the charge on Tuesday at Ikwo Local Government council headquarters, Onuebonyi Echera, during the inauguration of caretaker Executive of Orona Amagu Development Committee (ODC).

Nwode noted that crises has been a cog on the wheels of development in various parts of the state, hence the need for the new Caretaker Leadership to work as a team in ensuring that peace is maintained in all parts of the village.

Speaking during the inauguration, some Stakeholders from the Village, Chief Okeagu Ogada, Chief Igberi Nweme, Chief Itapa Azuobu and the councilor representing Ndiegu Amegu Ward 1, Mr Sunday Nweke, Commended the efforts of the state Governor, Engr David Umahi, the Deputy Governor, Barr. Kelechi Igwe and Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Legal Services and Conflict resolution, Barr. Emeka Nwode, in bringing to an end, the leadership tussle in their village. They also pledged their support to new caretaker leadership, urging them to carry all segment of the village along in their administration.

In his acceptance speech, the Chairman of the caretaker Executive, Mr Stephen Akpirife, thanked his people for finding him and his team worthy of service to the village, assuring that they will do everything possible to justify the confidence reposed on them promising not disappoint the people. 

The 22-member Caretaker Leadership of the village has Mr Stephen Akpirife as Chairman, Nwante Iree as the Vice Chairman, Chumkwma Nwaliobu as the General Secretary, Oliver Nwanyigwe as the Assistant General Secretary while Daniel Ashibong is the Treasurer. Others are Nwuze Vincent Ogbuewu as the Financial Secretary, Fidelis Ogadah as the publicity Secretary, Sunday Okpa as the social secretary, Cletus Chukwu All as the legal Adviser, Friday Nwanku as the Deputy Legal Adviser and Godwin Ogodo as Provost (Sergeant-at-arms). Meanwhile, Nwali Ekoyo, Leonard Ukwa, Ogbonnaya Nweke, Francis Omenyi, Nwaji Agashi, Ogbonnaya Nwanku Nshiegbe, Evaristus Ibor, Ike Igberi, Amos Ekoyo, Jacob Nwesuzor and Nkwuda Silas are all Ex- officios respectively.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post