Ebonyi govt donates brand new coaster Toyota bus to EBSU-SUG


Ebonyi state government under the watch of Governor David Umahi on Wednesday donated a brand new coaster Toyota bus to the Students Union Government (SUG) of Ebonyi State University (EBSU), Abakalki.

The Commissioner for Information and State Orientation, Barr Orji Uche Orji made this known in a statement after the meeting of the state government and EBSU stakeholders held at old Exco-Chambers, Government House, Abakalki. 

"Government donated a brand new 33- seater Coaster Toyota bus to the Students Union Government of EBSU to enhance the operations of the leadership of the Students Union," part of the statement hinted.

It was gathered that the state governor who is also the university visitor convened the meeting due to the lingering problems between the management of EBSU and the Trade Unions in the institution.

The government also considered the agitations of the Trade Unions and the needs of the University Community and resolved to set up a 21- man committee to be drawn from different organisations and stakeholders of the University community to look into the problems of the University.

According  to the statement,  "the committee is charged to work as a Visitation Panel to the University and to get details of the school fees, subventions, allowances and sources of revenue of other Universities of similar status and submit findings and recommendations within one month. The Committee is to be inaugurated on Friday, 11th June 2021

"Government reiterated its commitment to the security and welfare of the students of the University and indeed all the academic institutions in the State and resolved to fund the internal security arrangement of the students of Ebonyi State University."

NATIONAL PANEL reports that the  stakeholders who attended the meeting were made up of government functionaries, leadership of Christian Association of Nigeria, State Founding Fathers and Elders Council, Representatives of Academic Staff Union of Universities, Senior Staff  Association of Nigeria Universities, Non- Academic Staff Union of Universities, National Association of Academic Technologists, Students Union Government of EBSU.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post