Gov Umahi Constitute Governing Board of DNU Versity of Medical Sciences Teaching Hospital

The Ebonyi State Government has inaugurated a Governing Board for the David Umahi University of Medical Sciences Teaching Hospital, Uburu, Ebonyi State.

The Governor also  reconstituted the Governing Council of the Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki .

Both the Board and the Governing Council has Reverend Father Abraham Nwali as Chairman.

Other members of the Teaching Hospital Board are as follows: Professor Uzoma Agwu, Chief Medical Director;
Dr. Richard Nnabu, representing the Ministry of Health;
Barrister Roy Umahi Nweze, Professor Emeka Nwakpu and Dr. Christopher Nwuzo representing Ebonyi South, Central and North Senatorial districts respectively, in the Board.

Others are Dr. Ifeyinwa Umezurike, Chairman, Nigeria Medical Association, Ebonyi State; Pharmacist Ama Ogochukwu of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria;
Obasi Uchenna representing Nigeria Nurses and Midwives; Professor Grace Umezurike, representing the  University Senate; Prof Comfort Akujobi, Provost College of Medical Sciences; Dr. Charles Alike, representing the  Ministry of Health; Mrs. Gabby Idam for the State Hospital Management Board; Dr. Felix Endose, Chairman, Medical Advisory Council, and Dr. Ikechukwu Ugbadu representing the Vice-Chancellor.

Those inaugurated for the 22 member Governing Council for Ebonyi State University are as follows: 
1. Prof. Chigozie Ogbu, Vice-Chancellor
2. Prof. Happiness  Oselebe, Deputu Vice Chancellor, Administration.
3. Prof. Eugene Nweke,  DVC, Academics
4. Prof. Perpetus Chuka Ibekwe, Provost
5. Prof. Grace Umezuruike, representing the Governor.
6. Dr. Kenneth Igwe Ugbala, Secretary to the State Govt
7. Barr. Cletus Ofoke, Hon. Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice.
8. Dr. Sunday Nwangele, Commissioner for Education 
9. Chief David Nwachukwu.
10. Pastor Mrs Chinyere Umahi.
11. Mr. Orgbu Igwe Nweze.
12. Barr. Onwa Ali Onwa
13. Prof. Humphery Nwobasi,
14. Prof. Adaeze Nwuzor
15. Mr. Henry Nduka Awuregu
16. Engr. Joseph Nwite
17. Associate Prof. Onuorah Nweke
18 4 Representatives of Senate (to be elected) Members.
19.  2 Representatives of Congregation (to be elected)
20. 1 Representative of Convocation (to be elected)
21, Mr. Jerry Nwamgbo, Registrar and Secretary to Council.

Performing the inaugurations at the Executive Council Chambers, Government House, Abakaliki on Thursday, Governor Umahi charged them to brace up to the challenges of  effective service delivery to improve the quality of teaching and learning in the Institutions.

He tasked the Board and the Council as well as the management of the Institutions to place premium in effective maintenance of the infrastructures, urging them to ensure zero tolerance to cultism for both staff and students in the Institutions.

While congratulating them the Governor, further charged them to shun clannishness in handling the affairs of the universities.

"We must fight cultism in the Schools. Any semblance of cultism, the person must go.
"We are in a society where some lecturers are even cultists; those who should inculcate discipline and morality in our students should not do otherwise."

Governor Umahi restated his call for ASUU and the Federal Government to quickly resolve their impasse to avoid total collapse of the nation's education sector.

"I think the strike is long overdue.
"I believe very strongly that the Federal Government has heard their cries and we should meet ASUU so that our students can go back to school."

In his acceptance speech, on behalf of the two Governing bodies, the Chairman,  Reverend Father Abraham Nwali, thanked the Governor for finding them worthy to serve and pledged to work hard to reposition the Institutions.

Earlier, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Chief Cletus Ofoke said the inauguration was in exercise of the laws establishing the Institutions which empowered the Visitor to the Institutions inaugurate the Councils.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post