Nigerian State Speakers call for creation of State Police


The Conference of Speakers of State 
Legislatures of Nigeria on Saturday called for the creation of State Police in the country.

The Speakers made this call in a communique endorsed by their Chairman, Rt. Hon Abubakar Y. Suleiman, the Speaker of Bauchi State at the end of their 2021 second quarter meeting in Asaba, Delta State Capital.

The Conference also commended and appreciated the efforts of the Executive Governor of Delta State Senator Dr Ifeanyi A. Okowa and the Rt Hon Speaker, Delta State House of Assembly Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori for hosting this meeting to discuss a wide range of issues affecting the nation.

According to the communique, "the Conference, again, decried the spate of insecurity in the Country; and while commending the Federal Government on its efforts  at fighting the insecurity in the Country, the Conference calls on the major stakeholders to use the instrumentality of the ongoing Review of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to accommodate Community Policing and State Police in the country to effectively tackle the insecurity bedeviling the country. 

"The Conference commends the Governors that have commenced the implementation of the financial autonomy in their states while urging the other state governors to follow suite as agreed in the Memorandum of Action signed by all the Stakeholders."

 The Conference also called on all the State Houses of Assembly to pass Funds Management Bill for Assent of the Governors within the Fourty-Five (45) days window as agreed to by all the Stakeholders.

Picture: Executives of Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria

From L-R: Rt. Hon. Francis O. Nwifuru (Speaker Ebonyi, Zonal Vice Chairman South East); Rt. Hon. Ahmed L. Mirwa (Speaker Yobe, Zonal Vice Chairman North East); Rt. Hon. Edward Ubosi (Speaker Enugu, Financial Secretary); Rt. Hon. (Elder) Sheriff F.O. Oborevwori (Speaker Delta, Deputy Chairman); Rt. Hon. Abubakar Y. Suleiman (Speaker Bauchi, Chairman); Rt. Hon. Mathew Kolawole (Speaker Kogi, Treasurer); Rt. Hon. Olakunle T. Oluomo (Speaker Ogun, Zonal Vice Chairman South West); Rt. Hon. Tasiu Musa Maigari (Speaker Katsina, Zonal Vice Chairman North West)

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post