Ikwo Crises: Ex-Ebonyi Gov Elechi leads peace com'tee


A committee led by the former governor of Ebonyi State, Chief Martin Nwanchor Elechi (Ocho Udo 1, CON), was today Monday, June 28, 2021 inuagurated at the Ikwo Council Headquarters at Onuebonyi Echara to help settle all internal crisis and land disputes in all parts of the Ikwo council area.

The committee which is made up of eminent sons of Ikwo Noyo including the former governor Elechi whose love for peace is celebrated by all is in response to a mandate given by the governor of Ebonyi state, Engr. Chief David Nweze Umahi FNSE, FNATE, when he hosted a security meeting of Ikwo stakeholders at the Christian Ecumenical Center Abakaliki on May 7, 2021.

At that security meeting, His Excellency the governor had asked Chief Elechi to bring together a team of distinguished Ikwo sons to put an end to all lingering crisis in the council area.

Speaking during the inauguration today, the executive chairman of Ikwo LGA, Elder Hon. Stephen Orogwu, enumerated some of the disputes to be settled to include: Ndiegu Inyimagu and Ndiegu ekpaomaka boundary dispute; Abina village and Amagu land dispute; Uduku Igbudu/Agubia internal crisis; and Nduoduma Echara internal crisis. He expressed confidence in the committee and assured the committee of provision of logistics for the work, security for the committee and a standby bus to always transport the committee members wherever and whenever the need arises.

While inuagurating the committee, Chief Elechi stated that the antecedents of members qualified them to be in the committee. He noted that they are all distinguished men with enormous respect in the society. It's for this reason that they were selected to help settle those crises that threaten to jeopardize the progress of Ikwo Noyo.

Responding on behalf of committee members in a vote of thanks, Elder Dr. Sam N. Egwu, the former registrar of Ebonyi State University, expressed happiness that amongst all the great sons and daughters of Ikwo Noyo they had been chosen to do what's needful to make Ikwo peaceful. He pledged, on behalf of the committee, that they would have no rest till successful resolution of all the crises is a reality.

Members of the committee include:

Elder Dr. Sam Nte Egwu

Chief Sam Nwanchor

Hon. Onyema Nwekoyo

Chief Ndubuisi Umanyi

Chief Joseph Akpukwa

Dr Godwin Mbam, mni

Hon. Silas Orawo

Dr. Onuorah Nweke

Hon. Sunday Otah

Chief Joseph Amaga

Prof. Mike Otuma

Hon. Dave Onuoha

Chief Stephen Uzim

Hon. Matthew Nkwegu

Hon. Daniel Ogiji

Prof. Asukwa

Elder Hon. Joseph Orogwu

Chief Okpata Ulebe

©Ugonna Utulor

SSA to the Executive Chairman of Ikwo LGA  

(Media, Documentation and ICT)

June 28, 2021.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post