Why 83 Ebonyi Exco-members dissolved, 23 retained


Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State on Friday dissolved his executive Council members.

He dissolved '83' state Exco-members and retained '23' of them in order to do  appraisal of their inputs while in office.

The Secretary to the State Government, Dr Kenneth Igwe Ugbala whose office was not affected by the dissolution made this known during a joint briefing after the exco-meeting today at old Exco-Chambers, Government House Abakalki.

Ugbala said that the dissolution of the Exco-members had two phases.

According to him, the first phase of the Exco-members was dissolved today, Whereas the second phase is still impended.

Hear him: "Today at the course of conducting the Council affairs, the executive council was just dissolved. 

"The Council was dissolved, one is to give an opportunity for government to appraise the inputs of different Ministries, Department and Agencies so far and equally strengthen performance and capacity building in the works of MDAs. 

 "The dissolution was done in two phases, the first phase was dissolved today, while the second phase will be carried out possibly when those are to go today will come back so that it will guide government in taking the action in line with the policies and programmes of the government. 

 "Those retained till the second phase of the dissolution except the governor, his deputy and of course our dear father, Abraham Nwali, who are not affected are the Secretary to Ebonyi State Government and Coordinating Commissioner, the Honourable Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, the Commissioner for Finance and the Commissioner for Information and State Orientation, Commissioner for Internal Security, Border Peace and Conflict Resolution, SSA on Investment, Commissioner for Capital City Development, SA Deputy Governor's Office, all the Personal Assistants to the Governor, SA on maintenance, Commissioner for Infrastructure Concession, Head of Service, Commissioner for Works and Transport, SA Capital City, SSA Finance, SA Parks, Acting Commissioner for Housing and Urban Development, SA media and SSA Medicals to the governor."

He said these officers would remain on their duties till the second phase of dissolution takes effect, noting that those whom he did not mention among the Exco-members were dissolved.

He also stated that the affected officers had chance of re-appointment. 

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post